Oct 10

Published by Bryan Shendon


The new Learning and Development qualifications are now available and have been reviewed and improved and now come under the Training, Assessment and Quality Assurance (TAQA) banner.

So what are they about?  Well these are internationally recognised professional learning and development qualifications which are designed to improve the standard of practices and procedures of those groups or individuals who are working in training and development in any type of organisation, whether accredited or non-accredited learning.

As with the new Assessor and Quality Assurance awards there is no requirement for the learners, trainees or staff involved in the learning and development programmes to be undertaking an accredited vocationally related qualification or something similar.

The new qualifications are as follows:

Level 3 Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Learning and Development

Level 3 Award in Facilitating Learning and Development

Level 3 Certificate in Learning and Development

Level 4 Award in Learning and Development

Level 4 Diploma in Learning and Development

Level 3 is aimed at those working in training and development and who have a great deal of technical skills and knowledge, working with minimum supervision and have a good record of ensuring work meets the required standard, whilst at Level 4 they are aimed at senior or managerial level in learning and development and have a great deal of professional experience. If however, you are looking to enter the world of training and development then you can also undertake these qualifications as they cover both theoretical and practical aspects and there are specialist mini qualifications incorporated into the full Awards, Certificate and Diploma, such as the Assessor and Quality Assurance roles. Additionally qualifications can also be achieved on a unit by unit basis as you gain more knowledge and experience and become more involved in the design and management of learning and development programmes.

You can choose the qualification that demonstrates the specialist knowledge and skills you have developed, such as:

  • Mentoring
  • Coaching
  • Assessing Learning
  • Facilitating and Managing Learning.

In addition they can help you to progress in a wide range of learning and development roles, including:

  • Trainer
  • Tutor
  • Assessor
  • Internal Quality Assurer (previously known as Internal Verifier)
  • Learning and Development Manager
  • Learning and Development Consultant.

Target Training has a long and successful history of delivering the Learning and Development qualifications and we are now aiming to maintain this with the new and improved version.

We offer all 5 qualifications so if you are already involved in or are looking to become involved in the Learning and Development field please contact us at  for more information.



Older news items get archived by date. Please feel free to look through the archives to view past releases.


All our articles are tagged with the relevant keywords to make it easier for you to find what you are looking for. Below is a list of the keywords in use.